Antidepressants makes me tired, why?

welchs

Hi people. I need a bit of your help if this won’t take too much of your time. I have been thinking in the past that all those anti depressants are supposed to give you more energy when used, however, other than the anti depressant Wellbutrin, that I am not able to use because of the side effects I have from it, none of the other drugs are giving this energy boost. So, I would really like to know why these anti depressants are making you tired instead of giving your more energy?? Aren’t they, in fact, really supposed to give you this boost of energy?? Why it is not like that??

frompleat

I don’t know, I’m not an expert so I am not sure whether are they supposed to give you more energy or not. maybe they are, maybe not. what I do know is that in case these pills are making you sleepy and drowsy then I would recommend you to take them during the night time. I personally am not on any anti-depressants (but in the past I have been taking), however, my ex gf is. She is taking Zoloft 50 mg and for a couple of weeks she has been taking them as prescribed in the morning. But, she always complained that she’s been drowsy and that she is always falling asleep one hour after she took the medication. that is why she talked with her doctor (the one who prescribed here these) and said to take them at night (without any other explanations, at least to my knowledge). She started to use them during the night and she is now feeling better and it has worked much better in that way.

Thave