My son is 6 and is bipolar

Goldie

Hello everyone, I have a son diagnosed with bipolar disorder, but he is only 6 years old... I would like to know how others parents are dealing with illness of their children, or an expert / psychologist advice. I don't like the idea of my son being always on medications, but if there is no other way I would like to know types of medications I can give him (I already gave him some medications, but I want to know about others). We have been to a psychologist which gave me the medications... Now he is quite changed - his grades at school have improved and he became significantly calmer than I used to know him (this scares me a lot). By the way, my father was also diagnosed with bipolar disorder... Please let me know everything that could be helpful! Any insight could be helpful!

iKenny

Hello there, I really sympathies you with your son. I am not a doctor nor do I have a son diagnosed with bipolar disorder, but our family friends' son is going through the same situation so I understand your frustration. He was diagnosed with this mood disorder at age of 5 by a psychologist until he fully claimed that their son has bipolar disorder. I know that this is not easy dealing with this situation, it's hard having a child with bipolar disorder, I see them fighting with this every day.  Nowadays they try to have something like "discipline progress", they say it's the most effective method they ever tried. Usually when their child's behavior is giving sign of bipolar disorder they separate him in his room alone where he can relax and calm down. After that they try once again finding a treatment and talking about this and how to avoid this kind of unpleasant situations. I'm greatly surprised that your son is significantly calmer than usually. Also the kid is on some kind of drugs which psychologist prescribed, I don't remember their (drugs) names, I will ask them if you are jointly interested. You have to be patient and search as more informat