Bleeding on Depo Provera

HelloKitty

Hey everyone, I’m 19 years old and I would like to ask other women who already have some experience with birth control called: “Depo Provera”. I consulted my doctor about it and he agreed with this idea because I have insufficiency in iron and Depo Provera should stop my periods. So I got my first birth control shot a month ago on 8th February 2014 and the problem is that I started to bleed few days ago. Since it shouldn’t happen I’m really worried about it, I’m concerned if everything is ok with that or is a major side effect. I’m very upset because of this: I thought everything was going to be just fine. This is not my first time when I’m on a birth control pill and my periods were irregular. I’m scared maybe something is wrong with me? Is there someone else who have been on Depo Provera and have some experience with it? What should I do?

AmeliaLove

I cannot really help you since I am not a doctor nor an expert but I did used the Depo Provera so I will just share my story with you in hope that it will help somehow. At first sorry that it took me so much time to respond I've just seen your post. So when I had my shot I didn't bleed initially and after almost a week approximately when I should have had my period I got some bleedings for two weeks, well to be more specific that wasn't so much bleeding as just a little spotting. Maybe you will have a little longer or a little less than I had, who knows? Why I had it or why you have it I can't say, better go talk to a doctor, he knows best after all and maybe he will give you some answers. I am sure you will be just fine :) I'm now off it.

Andoult